AQUA: an aquatic walking robot

Authors: 

Christina Georgiades
Andrew Hogue
Hui Liu
Arlene Ripsman
Robert Sim
Luz-Abril Torres
Pifu Zhang
Chris Prahacs
Martin Buehler
Gregory Dudek
Michael Jenkin
Evangelos Milios

Author Addresses: 

Christina Georgiades (1)
cgeorg@cim.mcgill.ca

Andrew Hogue (2)
hogue@cs.yorku.ca

Hui Liu (3)
hliu@cs.dal.ca

Arlene Ripsman (2)
arlene@cs.yorku.ca

Robert Sim (4)
simra@cim.mcgill.ca

Luz-Abril Torres (4)
latorres@cim.mcgill.ca

Pifu Zhang (3)
pifu@cs.dal.ca

Chris Prahacs (1)
cprahacs@cim.mcgill.ca

Martin Buehler (1)
buehler@cim.mcgill.ca

Gregory Dudek (4)
dudek@cim.mcgill.ca

Michael Jenkin (2)
jenkin@cs.yorku.ca

Evangelos Milios (3)
eem@cs.dal.ca

(1) Mechanical Engineering, McGill University
3480 University St., Montreal, PQ, Canada

(2) Computer Science, York University
4700 Keele St., Toronto, Ontario, Canada

(3) Faculty of Computer Science, Dalhousie University
6050 University Ave., Dalhousie, NS, Canada

(4) School of Computer Science, McGill University
3480 University St., Montreal, PQ, Canada

Abstract: 

This paper describes an underwater walking robotic system being developed under the codename AQUA, the goals of the AQUA project, the overall hardware and software design, the basic hardware and sensor packages that have been developed, and some initial experiments. The robot is based on the RHex hexapod robot and uses a suite of sensing technologies, primarily based on computer vision and INS, to allow it to navigate and map clear shallow-water environments. The sensor-based navigation and mapping algorithms are based on the use of both artificial floating visual and acoustic landmarks as well as on naturally occurring underwater landmarks and trinocular stereo.

Tech Report Number: 
CS-2003-08
Report Date: 
November 10, 2003
AttachmentSize
PDF icon CS-2003-08.pdf2.07 MB